The Nobel Prize List 2014


The Nobel Prize in Physics 2014
Isamu Akasaki, Hiroshi Amano and Shuji Nakamura “for the invention of efficient blue light-emitting diodes which has enabled bright and energy-saving white light sources”

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2014
Eric Betzig, Stefan W. Hell and William E. Moerner “for the development of super-resolved fluorescence microscopy”

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2014
John O’Keefe, May-Britt Moser and Edvard I. Moser “for their discoveries of cells that constitute a positioning system in the brain”

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2014
Patrick Modiano “for the art of memory with which he has evoked the most ungraspable human destinies and uncovered the life-world of the occupation”

The Nobel Peace Prize 2014
Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzai “for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education”

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2014
Jean Tirole “for his analysis of market power and regulation”



Oct 9th, 2014 European Science Café


The next European Science Café will take place on Thursday, October 9th at the Black Labrador Pub, from 7 to 8.30 pm with a special time to order drinks before the presentation (6.30 pm – 7 pm). The invited speaker will be Prof. Stefano Sdringola, an Italian Cardiologist, Distinguished Professor of Medicine and Associate Director Weatherhead P.E.T. Center for Preventing and Reversing Atherosclerosis at the University of  Texas Medical School. Please find flyer below for more information.

Flyer_4th ESC_Sdringola-1 kopia